Summer Sale - Original Artwork up to 50% Off - Shipping Worldwide 🌎

About

Hi! My name is Salina and I am an Illustrator from Cádiz, the south of Spain.

My work is inspired by everyday objects that bring a sense of nostalgia and sweetness to me. I work with traditional media such as gouache and watercolour and I’m inspired by anything that sparks uniqueness in an unexpected way. My drawings go from detailed and vivid illustrations of antique objects to playful portraits of dogs.  I aim for my work to appear as being fresh and full of vibrant colors bringing what I draw to life.

I find inspiration in the things I love doing the most, such as spending time by the ocean, exploring new places and surfing but mostly, in anything I find around me that speaks for its beauty and subtle oneness.

FQ&A

I started drawing professionally in 2021 while I was living in Belgium. I decided I wanted to start making commissioned illustrations for clients and start selling my art online. These last two years of working with clients, mainly from Belgium, has really boosted my confidence as an illustrator and has brought me great opportunities.

I don’t officially have an art degree. I graduated in Advertising and Public Relations back in 2017 but when I finished my degree I knew I didn’t want to be part of the advertising world. I enrolled in a master in Graphic Storytelling at LUCA School of Arts in Brussels but realised the focus on storytelling wasn’t something for me.

I’ve always been very creative and have been drawing since I was a kid. It took me a few years to switch from the mindset of drawing being my passion and hobby to making it my job. It’s still a work in progress.

I was born in the south of Spain, in the beautiful province of Cadiz. I am half Spanish and half American and lived in the United States for two years when I was a kid. I’ve always wanted to explore the world and learn from different cultures. During my university years I spent some months in Florence, Italy and once I graduated I moved to Barcelona where I lived for almost 2 years. I then moved to Belgium where I lived for 2 years. I now live in a small town by the beach called Conil de la Frontera.

I love doing anything creative, from knitting to doing crafts like natural dying, bookbinding or collecting objects and giving them a second life. I’ve always liked collecting small objects that bring back memories of a place or moment. I like spending time out in the sun, going for long walks on the beach, surfing and having picnics outdoors. Even when I’m not drawing, I’m constantly creating, whether it is in the form of writing, for my blog, or thinking of a new recipe or project I want to start.

I love spending time alone and find it very grounding to enjoy this time for myself and cultivate stillness. I also love spending time with my family and sharing moments with friends.

I really enjoy learning languages. The fact of being able to communicate in a different language opens up a door of opportunities and is a way of experiencing a culture from a totally different perspective. I learned Italian in 2017 and moved to Italy for a couple of months where I became fluent at it. During my two years living in Belgium I learned how to speak Flemish and I am still working of speaking it better. Besides languages I love exploring different cultures.

Sri Lanka, Denmark, Morocco, New Zealand, Senegal, Japan